Pumpkin Pie Spiced Smoothie (100% RAW!)


I woke up this morning feeling like smoothie for breakfast. I know, I finished my cleanse/detox less than two days ago, so you’d think 2-3+ smoothies/day during those two weeks would’ve changed that, but no. One thing that I discovered during my cleanse, is how little I actually eat of RAW foods. I always try to cook my veggies ‘al dente’ so there’s still plenty of nutrients in them, but it’s not the same as getting 100% raw foods in your body. Wanna know if there’s a difference between eating cooked calories and raw calories?

I recently read this excerpt from “The Energy of Live Foods“, and Dr. Sir Gabriel seems to think so…

The Energy of Live Foods by Dr Sir Gabriel Cousens M.D., M.D. (H) D.D.

“There is a tremendous amount of extra levels of energy in live foods. One of the studies that most demonstrates this was done in Russia by Dr. Israel Breckman. The experiment was simple. He fed the same mice cooked food and live-food at different times. This was the exact same food and the exact same mice, the only difference was, the food was either cooked or uncooked. He measured the amount of energy and endurance the mice had when they were eating only live foods, and when eating the exact same amounts of food in its cooked state. The mice had three times more energy and endurance on the live-food than when they were eating cooked food. If nutrition were a simple matter of calories, there should not be any difference in endurance and power between eating the live and the cooked food. However, there clearly was a difference in the effect. This is because foods are not simply calories.”

What’s the difference? He goes on to say:

“Food has subtle nutrients, general nutrients, electrical energies, phytonutrients, enzymes, vitamins, and minerals. The electrical potential for our tissues and cells is a direct result of the liveliness of our cells. Live foods enhance the electrical potential in our cells, between the cells, at the interface of the cell membranes, and at the interface of the cells with the microcapulary electrical charges. When cells have the proper microelectrical potential, they have the power to rid themselves of toxins and maintain their selective capacity to bring appropriate nutrients, oxygen, and hydrogen into the cell, into the nucleus of the cell, as well as to feed the mitochondria. This helps to maintain, repair, and activate the DNA. Professor Hans Eppinger, who was the chief medical director of the first medical clinic at the University of Vienna, found that a live-food diet specifically raised the microelectrical potential throughout the body. He discovered that a live-food diet increases selective capacity of the cells by increasing their electrical potential between the tissue cells and the capillary cells. He saw that live-food significantly improves the intra and extracellular excretion of toxins, as well as absorption of nutrients. He and his co-workers concluded that live foods were the only type of food that could restore microelectrical potential to the tissues. In essence we can say that by restoring electrical potential to cells, live-food rejuvenates the life force and health of the organism.”

Anyways, I found that interesting… SO, sorry to throw that down so early in the morning! On to my recipe! This smoothie was SO delicious, I think it might even be my new ‘favorite’, which is a pretty big deal considering I’ve literally tried hundreds (well maybe not hundreds) of smoothie recipes in the last few weeks…but in saying that, pumpkin pie is probably my favorite dessert of all time – so, I may be partial. I wasn’t sure how the RAW pumpkin would be, but the taste was amazing and it’s hard to believe that this smoothie is completely RAW!

pumpkinpiesmoothie1

Pumpkin Pie Spiced Smoothie

Dietary Info: GF/DF/PA/SF/V (and Vegan)

Serves 1 (535g, one large glass)

1.5 c. unsweetened almond milk

1 c. chopped RAW pumpkin (120g)

1/2 large carrot (50g)

1 Tbs. chia seeds (7.5g)

1 Tbs. ground flaxseed

122g chopped fresh pineapple chunks (about 3/4 cup)

2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1/3 c. ice

1 scoop warrior blend vanilla RAW protein powder

Blend and enjoy!

Nutrition information per serving: Calories 348, Fat 12g, Carb 39g, Protein 23g

Special Dietary Needs:

Gluten Free/Grain Free = GF
Dairy Free = DF
Sugar Free = SF
Paleo Approved = PA
Vegetarian = V

The above codes for specific dietary requirements will be found under each recipe title.

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Spiced Smoothie (100% RAW!)

  1. Wow! Who would’ve thought there was such a difference to your health when you choose raw foods over cooked! Now I’m inspired to eat as many raw foods as I can. Very interesting quote. And I’ve made pumpkin smoothies before, but it never occurred to me to use raw pumpkin. How does it taste?

    • Hey, glad you found it interesting too! I recently read an article that claimed the average person eats only 10-20% raw fruits/vegetables each day (most of it coming from fruits, so still missing out on all nutrients, calcium, minerals, etc. found in raw leafy greens and veggies)! Since my detox, I’ve decided to make it a goal of eating 60-70% raw each day, as I have seen a noticeable difference in my energy, and my digestion feels like its functioning much better too! In answer to your question about the RAW pumpkin in my smoothie – it tasted really good (lots of pumpkin flavour, which I thought I’d loose without cooking it first)! I’m going to make another one for morning snack with coconut cream to give it a little extra creaminess… Plus I love the flavours of coconut and pumpkin together! If you are looking for a sweeter version, you could add a banana in place of pineapple too…I just don’t eat bananas 🙂 let me know if you try it and what you think!

      • Hello again! I made this smoothie this morning along with my breakfast, and it was amaazing!! I didn’t have any vanilla protein powder so I simply added a little vanilla extract, and I also took your suggestion by adding a little coconut cream, and man was the result rich and creamy! And you’re right, raw pumpkin really does taste better! It’s so refreshing, I could drink this everyday! And I’m also wondering how this might taste with other varieties of raw squash–there’s so many possibilities, and I can’t wait to try them all! Thanks Shariyah 🙂

      • Hi again! Yay, I’m so glad to hear that you got to try it – and your additions sound wonderful! I’ve tried a few different version of this since my original post, and I’ve finally discovered the perfect concoction 🙂 Just posted it this morning here! I’ve also tried using acorn squash (raw of course) in smoothies, and has pretty much the same result of texture as using pumpkin, the flavor is just slightly different. I’d love to hear if you get creative and try other variations – I’m hooked on the raw smoothies!!

  2. Hi, I was looking for a raw pumpkin spice smoothie recipe, which this claims to be. The only thing is, boxed almond milk is not raw. I find this to be misleading.

    • Hello there! Thank you for your comment and I’m sorry that I’m just replying now… first of all, I’m very sorry if you felt like I was misleading you by stating that this was indeed a “raw” recipe… I listed it in my “raw” category because of course I believe it to be raw. I checked with the Sogood almond milk company before posting this to confirm that their almond milk was indeed made from raw almonds and NOT roasted, and they confirmed that this was true. Of course it’s not in the “freshly raw” form (just as coconut milk and cream, etc. would be – both of which are “raw” products) so if you have any concerns about this I suggest just making your own raw almond or nut milk which is so very easy to make and even more delicious than any brands out there in my opinion! I have a recipe for raw almond milk on my site which you can find here: Homemade Creamy Caramel Almond Milk

Let me know what you think!