Dairy free Vanilla Yogurt & Blueberry Parfait


One of the hardest things for me to give up on my new and revised healthy eating plan, was dairy. I love dairy so much. I love cheese — every kind of cheese, but especially goat and sheep feta, parmesan and mozzarella! My usual breakfast before giving up dairy was Greek yogurt topped with honey and fresh fruit, and sometimes with a sprinkle of granola on top (not the grain-free kind) — that was my fave. I didn’t give up dairy because I think it’s bad for you, I literally thought that I’d give it a ‘trial run’ to see if I felt any better after eliminating it from my diet, and to my surprise (and maybe a little dismay) I felt way better. So much better in fact, that I haven’t actually felt like I’m missing out on it! Cam still eats cheese on a daily basis, so it’s not like I don’t have a huge stash of it in my fridge, but just knowing how much better I feel when I don’t eat it, takes away the craving for me!

I have thought lately though, that it would be fun to try and make a dairy-free “yogurt” — not only for me, but for all of you other dairy-free eaters out there…so this morning, I gave it a try. Guess what? It worked! Here it is, my dairy-free AND grain-free “Vanilla Yogurt & Blueberry Parfait”!

Before I get to the recipe, I thought I’d share a few little fun facts to compare my dairy-free and grain-free “Fruit & Yogurt Parfait” recipe to your standard (and very popular) Starbucks version! I used to buy these handy little “breakfasts in a cup” several times a week, and thought they were the healthiest thing ever. Not so much. 

While Starbucks nutrition facts may contain a low percentage of fats, it is also very high in carbs and sugar, not to mention that there are lots of processed ingredients. Here are the ingredients for a traditional 8oz. Starbucks Blueberry Yogurt Parfait:

Ingredients:

Blueberry nonfat yogurt (cultured pasteurized grade a nonfat milk, sugar, water, modified food starch, blueberry puree, whey protein concentrate, natural flavor, pectin, carrageenan, annatto color, citric acid, calcium chloride), blueberries (blueberries, ascorbic acid, citric and/or malic acid), oat and honey granola (whole rolled oats, milled cane sugar, rice flour, oat flour, vegetable oil [canola and/or safflower and/or sunflower oil], molasses, honey, natural flavor, salt, barley malt syrup, cane sugar, water, citric acid, guar gum, xanthan gum, fruit and vegetable juice [color]). Produced in a facility that processes tree nuts, wheat and soy.

Yeah, that’s a lot of stuff in one little 8oz cup! You can compare the nutrition facts of Starbucks 341g serve to my 351g serving. My recipe I’m going to share is very basic, but it’s also got a very ‘greeky, and yogurty’ texture and the the flavor is SO yum. You wouldn’t know it’s not yogurt… really. Here’s my recipe!

fruitandyogurtparfait2Vanilla Yogurt & Blueberry Parfait

Dietary Info: GF/DF/SF/PA/V and Vegan! (*see notes at end of post for dietary codes)

Serves 1 (351g)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. organic coconut milk (full fat)
  • 1/2 c. + 1 Tbs. ice cold water
  • 1 scoop warrior blend vanilla raw protein powder by sunwarrior
  • 1 tsp. guar gum
  • 1 tsp. natural vanilla extract with seeds
  • 2 tsp. natural banana flavor (optional, but sooo good!)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. raw honey

For the topping: 

Instructions: 

  1. Whiz all ingredients (minus the toppings) in blender or food processor on high speed for 20-30 seconds or until creamy.
  2. Transfer to bowl and pop in the fridge for 15-20 minutes.
  3. Remove from fridge, and top with your grain-free granola and berries. Enjoy!

fruitandyogurtparfait

dairyfreeyogurtparfaitstarbucks nutrition facts

Nutrition facts per 351g serving (includes grain-free granola crunch and blueberries): Calories 295, Fat 17.6, Carb 20g, Protein 19.8g

Special Dietary Needs:

Gluten Free/Grain Free = GF
Dairy Free = DF
Sugar Free = SF
Paleo Approved = PA
Vegetarian = V
Low Carb = LC

The above codes for specific dietary requirements will be found under each recipe title

Let me know what you think!

