Chewy Almond-Raisin Cookies with Coconut Butter Frosting! (Vegan, Paleo, Gluten-free)


Hello again! Yes, I’m still alive…even though my lack of posts over the last few months may suggest otherwise!

Although I haven’t been doing much posting, I have been doing MUCH baking…lots and lots of baking! One of the most exciting things about deciding to go grain-free and sugar-free (and choosing to use only real and wholesome food — none of the processed stuff) is coming up with delicious new recipes. It’s something that I don’t think I’d ever get sick of!

After spending over 15 hours in the last day and a half, cooking and baking at Wilder & Hunt, I once again found myself in the kitchen – baking. As soon as I walked in my door, I decided that I needed to bake some cookies, since we had none in the house (not acceptable!) and about 20 minutes later, my house smelled like sweetly toasted heaven and I had at least a dozen of these amazing cookies to show for it.

In case you were wondering,  Wilder & Hunt is an exciting, brand-spankin’ new “Real Food” store/cafe offering raw smoothies, delicious baked goods and ready-made meals catering to Paleo, Primal, Vegetarians/Vegans as well as anyone interested in being healthy. Because I’m so passionate about making healthy food taste delicious (and of course, grain-free and sugar-free) the perfect place for me to cook and bake my recipes is the Wilder & Hunt kitchen, where I can share my food with all of their customers! For those of you in Auckland or visiting, check out our facebook page here!

Now on to the recipe…There are actually two recipes that I will be sharing with you today. The first recipe is for my Chewy Almond-Raisin Cookies, and the second is for Coconut Butter Frosting which I decided at the last minute to combine with these cookies to make a “Frosting Sandwich”…and wow–was it good! Please give these a try, I promise you won’t be disappointed!

almond raisin cookies stack
Chewy 
Almond-Raisin Cookies (coconut-butter frosting is totally optional!)

Dietary Info: GF/DF/SF/PA/V (*see notes at end of post for dietary codes)

Yield: 12-16 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup nut butter*
  • 1/4 c. maple syrup
  • 1 Tbs. natural vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c. coconut milk (or almond milk)
  • 1/2 c. almond meal
  • 1 Tbs. finely ground flaxseed OR ground chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 c. raisins (to fold into batter last)

Instructions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 180C or 350F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine all cookie ingredients except the raisins. Mix well to combine.
  3. Stir in raisins, and let mixture sit a few minutes (the ground flax or ground chia seeds will help the batter bind together).
  4. Place a sheet of baking paper on a oven tray and drop spoonfuls of batter onto tray. I used a heaping tablespoon measuring spoon to help with this (dip in coconut oil to help mixture to keep from sticking to it). Gently nudge the batter so they are somewhat round, and keep in mind they will flatten/expand a little so make sure you don’t place dough balls too close together. You should get between 12-16 cookies from this recipe, depending on how generous the size you want!
  5. Place cookies in oven and bake for about 12 minutes, or until cookies are turning slightly golden around edges. Transfer immediately to wire rack to cool completely.

*I always make my own nut butters, whether it’s almond butter, macadamia-nut butter, cashew butter, you name it. It’s about the most simple thing on the planet to make (as long as you have a little food processor to help that is!) and it’s so much more delicious in my opinion! Click here to see how I make my homemade cookie butter!

For this recipe, I had a mixed bag of toasted nuts (cashews, brazil nuts, almonds, walnuts, etc.) which I simply threw in my food processor and blended until it was a nice and creamy butter (about 5-7 minutes), then I sprinkled a little sea salt in and that’s it! You can use any kind of nut butter though: almond butter, peanut butter, your choice! I do recommend using homemade if you can!

almond raisin cookie

For the Coconut Butter Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 c. unsweetened coconut flakes OR shredded coconut (this should yield about a half cup of coconut butter once blended to smooth)
  • 1 Tbs. coconut oil
  • 3 Tbs. maple syrup
  • 4 Tbs. coconut cream (full fat)
  • 1/2 tsp. natural almond essence

Instructions: 

  1. Place unsweetened coconut flakes (or shredded coconut) in food processor. Blend until flakes have turned into a creamy butter, about 5-7 minutes.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and pulse mixture in food processor until mixed evenly.
  3. Put frosting in fridge to chill for 5-10 minutes, give a good mix and then it’s ready to spread!
  4. Store extra frosting in air tight container in fridge for a later use.

You can use this frosting on muffins, cakes, cookies, or you spoon quarter-size morsels on a tray and place in the fridge or freezer for a yummy little sweet treat!

almond raisin cookies

Special Dietary Needs:

  • Gluten Free/Grain Free = GF
  • Dairy Free = DF
  • Egg Free = EF
  • Nut Free = NF
  • Sugar Free = SF
  • Paleo Approved = PA
  • Vegetarian/Vegan = V
  • Low Carb = LC

The above codes for specific dietary requirements will be found under each recipe title.

4 thoughts on “Chewy Almond-Raisin Cookies with Coconut Butter Frosting! (Vegan, Paleo, Gluten-free)

  1. Ohh I was just thinking of what to do with the leftover almond meal from my home made almond milk, and these answered my q! Bonus points for having all the ingredients. Can’t wait to try them out!

    • Hi Kirsty, I honestly couldn’t tell you if Stevia granules would work as a replacement, as I’ve only ever used either maple syrup, coconut nectar, agave, etc. but I will say that the consistency of the batter is much like homemade almond butter (creamy) anyways, so my guess is that it would work fine, it obviously would just be a bit thicker of a batter which isn’t a bad thing at all. Give it a try and let me know how it goes! Thanks for your question, and sorry I couldn’t be of more help!

Let me know what you think!

