Homemade Doggy Treats “Italian Crunchy Munchies”


I know I haven’t done a post in a few days…I had a little incident with my iphone, which is what I use to take all my foodie pics. I accidentally ‘synced’ it to my iTunes (darn them) which erased all of my photos and data I had saved on it, all of which I can unfortunately not get back – I was devastated! Considering I had taken so many photos of recipes over the last month that I’ve yet to post, and now I have no photos with them, which means a major re-do! Oh well, I’m over it. I’d like to delete iTunes now and forever, but I’m scared that if I do so, it will take my whole computer with it. So anyways, I guess all I can do is to warn you – if iTunes asks you if you want to sync your iPhone – don’t do it, unless you’re prepared to loose it all!

Moving on! I do have a recipe for you. Actually, it’s more of a recipe for your dog than for you…
IMG_0628(this was such a funny photo shoot – Cash kept crouching then pouncing on the pile of treats, then taking off running as fast as he could then back again. It drove him a little crazy making him wait till the photos were over, so he was definitely well deserving of a treat by the end of it!)

We have a little French Bulldog named Cash, who is just the cutest ever. His love language is definitely touch, so he is usually following me around the house or kitchen and wherever I ‘land’, he usually parks at my feet and makes sure his foot is planted on top of mine (I’ve heard is a dominance thing, but I’m pretty convinced it’s just because he loves me). Yesterday, I had a little idea to try and make a special doggie treat just for Cashie — especially considering that no matter how many treats I buy and bring home, he doesn’t actually eat them. Cashie, like his parents, eats very well. He doesn’t eat the typical dog food, I feed him raw dog food from K9 Naturals which contains NO WHEAT, RICE, GRAINS, CEREALS, SOY OR GLUTEN and is apparently based on the actual diet of the domestic dog’s closest relative, the Grey Wolf. He loves it.

IMG_0625

I did a bit of research before coming up with my recipe for these doggie treats, because I wanted to make sure that the ingredients I used were not only healthy but also beneficial for our little friends. And just a word of warning, these treats will have your doggy begging for more.

IMG_0617

Italian Crunchy Munchies

Makes 25 biscuits

Ingredients:

  • 7oz frozen ground chicken or beef *see note
  • 3oz grated cheese
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic granules
  • 2 tsp. beef stock powder
  • 1 c. wheat germ
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 c. rye flakes, ground
  • 1/3 c. oat bran
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 c. water
  • 3 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 (170C).
  2. In a food processor or blender, pulse frozen meat until a ‘crumbed’ texture. Transfer to large mixing bowl.IMG_0575
  3. Add cheese, oregano, beef powder, and remaining dry ingredients, and mix well.
  4. In a small bowl, whisk eggs, water and olive oil.
  5. Mix wet ingredients into dry, and stir until well combined.
  6. Have a little extra whole wheat flour hand to use for dusting.
  7. Lay out a large piece of baking paper on your counter, and dust with flour. Spoon out meat mixture (which should be thick and a somewhat moist dough). Sprinkle flour on top of dough, and using your hands, press into a flat surface into the shape of your baking paper leaving about an inch or two around all sides (so the dough doesn’t reach the edges of the baking paper). Sprinkle with a little more flour on top, spread over evenly to prevent sticking, and place another sheet of baking paper on top. With a rolling pin, pressing gently, roll on top to flatten surface.IMG_0577
  8. Remove baking sheet from the top and now you can either cut into shapes with a cookie cutter, or just cut into treat size strips which is easier, as you can just leave on the baking paper and place on a cookie sheet and put straight in the oven. If cutting into shapes, you’ll want to transfer those shapes as you cut them to another sheet of baking paper, then onto a tray to place in oven. Your choice! I used a cookie cutter for the first few, and then ended up just cutting the others to speed up the process.IMG_0582(I started out with hearts…)
    IMG_0581
    (and then got a little impatient and just cut little treat-size bars… Cash didn’t mind at all.)
  9. Place baking paper with treats on a large cookie sheet and place in preheated oven for 45 minutes-1 hour. Check at 45 minutes – you want treats to be slightly golden in color, and firm to touch. If they are still a little ‘springy’ leave them to bake for another 10-15 minutes.
  10. Remove from oven, and transfer to wire rack to cool completely. Then treat your very spoiled pooch!

*Notes: You’re house will smell like an Italian Pizza joint after you make these, so just make sure you put these treats in a ‘dog treat’ jar so you don’t end up snacking on them yourself! If you are the type who likes to share food with your pet anyways, just make sure to use human-grade meat instead of the butchery off-cuts or pre-frozen ground stuff for this recipe.

For this recipe, I used 7oz of K9 naturals frozen “Lamb Feast”, but you can also use any ground lamb, chicken or beef (fresh or frozen) for this recipe.

IMG_0622

2 thoughts on “Homemade Doggy Treats “Italian Crunchy Munchies”

  1. Great idea – cant wait to try. Also there’s a USB stick you can use to retrieve deleted data from your iPhone. It’s about $150 but may be worth it for you? Just a thought 🙂

    • Hi Jess, thanks so much for your advice! I did end up trying a few different downloadable programs to recover my data/photos from my phone, but it was unsuccessful – I’ve since got a different phone all together, so I’ve learned from my past mistakes of not saving things on my hard drive! Thanks for your comment 🙂

Let me know what you think!

