Flourless Chocolate-Chip Cookies


My recipe I’m going to share with you today is simple and sweet, and takes care of that naughty craving you may have to indulge in a not-so-healthy sweet treat. When I get those cravings, I like to make sure I’ve got something in my cupboard, ready to treat myself to!

I wasn’t so prepared the other night. Cam and I both were wanting something sweet after a pretty late dinner, and after scrummaging through my cupboards trying to be creative and think what I could turn into a ‘dessert’ in a relatively short amount of time, I decided on cookies. Chocolate Chip cookies to be exact. (yes, I was baking cookies after 9:30pm). 

This was the first time I’ve tried baking cookies– well, flourless and grain-free that is… and I wasn’t sure how they’d turn out, but we were both very happy for what came out of that oven! The great thing about this recipe, is that you can throw in whatever nuts you have on hand in your cupboard for the nut-butter base, so feel free to experiment! I want to use walnuts in my next batch… Anyways, I hope you enjoy these little treats — we sure did!

choccookies4Flourless Chocolate-Chip Cookies

Dietary Info: GF/DF/SF/PA/V and Vegan! (*see notes at end of post for dietary codes)

Yield: 14 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 c. (100g) almonds
  • 1/4 c. (60g) roasted cashews (unsalted)
  • 2 Tbs. coconut oil
  • 40g almond meal
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. natural vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c. coconut palm sugar + 1 Tbs. honey
  • 1/4 c.(45g) dark chocolate chunks *see notes
  • sea salt

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (176C).
  2. In a food processor, add almonds and cashews and grind on high speed for 1-2 minutes, or until it turns into a smooth nut-butter spread.
  3. Add coconut oil, and blend on high for another 20 seconds.
  4. In a medium sized mixing bowl, whisk eggs, vanilla, honey and coconut sugar till well combined.
  5. Add nut-butter mixture to wet ingredients along with a few dashes of sea salt. Mix well, scraping sides of bowl until mixed evenly.
  6. Carefully sprinkle in chocolate chunks or chips and fold into batter until evenly distributed throughout mixture.
  7. Place parchment paper on large cookie sheet, and using a tablespoon, scoop a heaping spoon of cookie batter and drop onto paper. Repeat, portioning even amounts of batter for each cookie.
  8. Spread a little coconut oil on your fingers, and gently press down on the top of each ball of cookie dough, to make more of  a “cookie” form.
  9. Place cookie sheet in oven, and bake for 12 minutes (I like to set a timer so I don’t forget!). Check cookies at 12 minutes, and insert a toothpick in one to check for doneness. Toothpick inserted should come out clean and the cookies should be relatively firm to touch.
  10. Remove from oven, transfer cookies to wire rack and let cool. Enjoy!!!

*Notes: 

  • I use dark chocolate natural raw cacao nibs for this recipe, but you could also use a dairy/sugar-free dark chocolate block and chop into nice chunks.
  • Store these cookies in an airtight container or tightly sealed jar for storage. But you’ll be lucky if you have any left after a few days!

flourless chocolate chip cookies

Nutrition facts per cookie: Calories 147, Fat 11.5, Carb 8, Protein 4.4

Special Dietary Needs:

Gluten Free/Grain Free = GF
Dairy Free = DF
Sugar Free = SF
Paleo Approved = PA
Vegetarian = V
Low Carb = LC

The above codes for specific dietary requirements will be found under each recipe title

One thought on “Flourless Chocolate-Chip Cookies

Let me know what you think!

