Dark Chocolate & Watermelon RAW Protein Smoothie


Today was carb-up day again, which means the perfect opportunity for me to experiment with new protein shake recipes! On all my weekdays other than ‘carb-up’ day, I keep my daily carb intake to a maximum of 60g, which is probably quite a bit lower then the average American daily carb intake (actually, it’s definitely a lot lower!). Today, my carb intake goal is 246g of carb while keeping my fat intake to less than 20g… this challenge has gotten much easier the more I get used to this weekly routine!

This is the perfect post-workout smoothie, as it’s high-GI carbs and little fat which is perfect after a hard workout. And if you love chocolate – especially dark chocolate – you’re in for a treat. This is more like a dessert then a ‘protein’ shake, so go ahead and put your feet up while you enjoy this…you deserve it. This also makes for a good breakfast when you’re in a rush – a great meal replacement!

I always plan to do my carb-up day on “leg day”, which is my hardest workout of the week (or should I say, my least favorite). I’ve decided to step my workouts up a notch and add in cardio into my daily routine, so today I had an extra surge of energy kick in when I reminded myself of my goals… I completed my hour-long leg routine and then went for an hour run outside. When I say ‘run’ I should clarify that it’s not actually running – I despise running with a passion – only because my shins kill me whenever I try, so I’ve managed to make-do with a speedy walk instead. I try not to think about comical I probably look to passer-bys…speed walking never looks as cool as running, but whatever. I wear my trusted Polar F40 heartrate monitor and make sure I keep my heart rate up, so that always keeps the speed in my step. Plus, I burned 753 calories from my workout…mission accomplished.

caloriesburnedMy trusty Polar FT40 (and what I had for dinner post-smoothie — a fruit salad of grapefruit and tangerines).

Anyways, I’ll get on with my amazing protein smoothie recipe! This is a chocolate-watermelon combo, that turns super creamy with the banana addition. I don’t bother picking the seeds out of the watermelon, because it gets blended anyways, and contrary to what I was told when I was little, you won’t get pregnant from swallowing the seeds. Just in case you were wondering…

choco1

Dark Chocolate & Watermelon RAW Protein Smoothie

Dietary Info: GF/DF/SF/PA/V and Vegan (*see notes at end of post for dietary codes)

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. coconut water
  • 1 scoop of raw protein powder (*see note)
  • 2 Tbs. (12g) raw cacao powder or organic cocoa powder
  • 1 c. (152g) watermelon, chopped
  • 1/4 c. (60g) frozen blueberries
  • half a frozen banana, chopped (60g)

Instructions:

  1. Blend all ingredients on high for 30 seconds, or until mixture is smooth and creamy. Sprinkle with a little more cocoa powder and kick your feet up and enjoy! 

choco2

*notes: The protein powder I used in this recipe is unflavored RAW Protein by Garden of Life. It also comes in a yummy chocolate or vanilla flavor, but I’m all out – this tasted amazing anyways though! The thing I like about this protein powder is it’s RAW and organic sprouted protein and has live probiotics and enzymes too. It also is low fat/low carb with only 1g fat and 3g carb per scoop.  You can read more about it and get it here.

Nutrition information per serving: Calories 326, Fat 4g, Carb 57g, Protein 23g

Special Dietary Needs:

Gluten Free/Grain Free = GF
Dairy Free = DF
Sugar Free = SF
Paleo Approved = PA
Vegetarian = V
Low Carb = LC

The above codes for specific dietary requirements will be found under each recipe title.

5 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate & Watermelon RAW Protein Smoothie

  1. Hi there. The current Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter is collecting links to posts about shakes and smoothies. I do hope you link this lovely one in. This is the link . Please do pop back to check out some of the other links – there are a lot of good ones already. Have a great week.

  2. Shariyah, thank you for linking this in to Food on Friday. We have got a super collection of shakes and smoothies together. I hope you have stopped by some of the other links to check them out!

    Ps I have just signed up to follow your blog. A follow back to Carole’s Chatter would be wonderful – or have you already followed? Cheers

    Ps If you would like email reminders of future Food on Fridays, just pop by and comment and include your email – I won’t publish it – and the reminder will be by bcc so it will remain private

    • Hi Carole, thank you for letting me know about your “Food on Friday” blog, and I love that you did a link list for shakes and smoothies! I’ve added this and will definitely be trying several of the recipes added to your list…what a great idea! Thanks for following my blog, and I will stop over now to leave my email, as I’d love to get updates from you! Thank you 🙂

  3. Hi Shariya,
    I found your blog through my mother Vicki who, I believe, is in a online painting group with you (She’s in L.A., I’m in Auckland). Anyway, I’m happy to have found another blogger here in NZ. Although the numbers are growing, there aren’t that many of us:) My little son and I loved this recipe minus the protein powder. I’m not sure how I feel about those yet. I just added in a tablespoon of LSA and a teaspoon of chia seeds instead. If you have any other alternative suggestion for the protein powder, I’d love to hear your advice. Many thanks!

    • Hi Marie, thanks for visiting my blog – I’m glad you found me! Your mother Vicki and I are both a part of the same online painting group – and funny, you and I are neighbors! I’m happy you found me too — I just paid a quick visit to your site, WOW – we should do some cooking together! Your recipes look delicious, I have saved your blog so I can come back and visit when I have a chunk of time to do so…I love all the different cuisines you’ve included too. As far as your question re: the Dark Chocolate and Watermelon smoothie ~ you said you’re not sure how you feel about the protein powders yet, so I’m wondering if it’s just because the fact it’s “protein powder”? or other reason? There are different alternatives I could suggest that will thicken your smoothies and add a creamy texture without adding the extra protein powder… you could try adding a teaspoon of guar gum to your smoothie – this is a little trick I recently learned from a good friend, and it works wonders! I made a yummy dairy free vanilla yogurt and blueberry parfait this morning using this method (the recipe will be posted first thing tomorrow) and it turned out amazing! Another alternative is to add a scoop (2 heaping dessert spoonfuls) of almond meal. I like the nutty flavor this adds, and it does help to thicken a bit as well. As you’ve already mentioned, LSA and chia seeds are both great alternatives for thickening smoothies as well. Let me know what you think, and have a look at the yogurt parfait recipe I post in the morning for another idea if you wish! Nice meeting you, and hope to stay in touch!

Let me know what you think!

