The Farmer’s Grain-free Muesli


I am so excited to share this recipe with you… it’s been a very long while since I’ve enjoyed a bowl of muesli for breakfast ~ especially since cutting out grains (including oats) from my diet. To be honest, I think I actually accepted the fact that it was just something I had to say goodbye to for good. Don’t get me wrong — since cutting out grains from my diet, I have felt so much better, and my stomach no longer feels like it’s working overtime trying to digest the food I put in. I feel healthier, and I actually don’t really even miss it. However, I did wake up this Sunday morning, feeling like a having real traditional “farmhouse” style breakfast.

When I was little, our family of 8 lived on a huge farm of 350+ acres in the country-side of Tennessee. This is where my five sisters and I were raised, learning to plant our veggies from seeds — I remember the excitement when my sisters and I would first discover the tiny seedlings in our garden sprouting up for the first time.  My papa was the master of the garden, spending hours planting, nurturing the seeds from start to finish, and tilling the earth the old-fashioned way, with a horse and plow. We were blessed to eat home-grown, organic fruits and vegetables and have the healthiest meals every day. From a very young age, my mama took time to include my sisters and I in her kitchen activities, baking bread, cookies, soups — you name it.

One of my favorite recipes to make from my childhood was mama’s homemade granola. I loved the part when you mix the dry ingredients with the wet, and getting to mix it with my hands until every piece of the dry mixture oats, coconut and nuts was covered in the honey goodness. Now, this is not mama’s recipe… as I’ve mentioned above, this is grain-free — but the toasted flavors, mixed with the combination of fresh and dried fruit with homemade spiced almond milk on top was — well, pretty amazing. It made me feel like I was back at the farm…and it made me miss it.

grainfreemuesli4

This recipe makes two servings, and takes about 15 minutes to make. Cam enjoyed it just as much as I did, and neither of us have stopped raving about the homemade almond milk (that recipe will be posted next!).

grainfreemuesli2

The Farmer’s Grain-free Muesli

Dietary Info: GF/DF/SF/PA/V

Serves 2 (145g servings)

Ingredients:

50g raw almonds, chopped in halves lenthwise (or you could use pre-sliced almonds)

25g shredded unsweetened coconut

10g pumpkin seeds

10g sunflower seeds

4 dried apricots (17g), chopped

1 medium apple (150g), cored and chopped (put in a food processor and ‘pulse’ until apples are shredded into small pieces, don’t over do it though – you don’t want it to turn to applesauce!)

2 Tbs. (16g) Healtheries Ground LSA SUPER FRUITS (Blueberry, Strawberry and Blackcurrant Fibre)

1 tsp. cinnamon

a dash of himalayan sea salt to taste

2 sweete sachets OR a drizzle of raw honey (optional)

Instructions: 

  1. Place a non-stick frypan on medium high heat, and add almonds, sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds. Stir continuously for 1-2 minutes, or until nuts are starting to brown slightly. Add shredded coconut, and continue to stir until fragrant and starting to turn golden in color. 
  2. Remove from heat. Pour toasted nuts into medium sized mixing bowl, and add shredded apples, ground LSA SUPERFRUITS (or ground LSA/Linseed, Sunflowerseed, Almonds). Mix well, add cinnamon and a dash of himalayan sea salt to taste with (optional) sweetener of choice. I used 2 sachets of sweete (which is a natural stevia granulated sweetener – only 1 calorie per sachet)
  3. Divide into two bowls, and serve with milk. You can also top with a Tbs. of natural coconut cream, but I just skimmed some foam from the top of my homemade spiced almond milk and it was delicious.

Makes 290 grams

grainfreemuesli3
Nutrition information per serving: Calories 392, Fat 28.8g, Carb 27g, Protein 10.9g

Screen Shot 2013-02-10 at 11.18.11 AM

Special Dietary Needs:

Gluten Free/Grain Free = GF
Dairy Free = DF
Sugar Free = SF
Paleo Approved = PA
Vegetarian = V

The above codes for specific dietary requirements will be found under each recipe title.

2 thoughts on “The Farmer’s Grain-free Muesli

  1. Nice! My sister just finished her last bowl of paleo cereal, and now I’m thinking of making her this muesli–it looks amazing and my sister’s crazy about apples so it’s perfect! I’d like to make a big batch of it to last for the week, would it store well in the fridge?
    And I’m really looking forward to that Almond Milk recipe 🙂

    • Sweet, I’m sure your sister would go crazy for this recipe then…it was so delicious!! I just came up with a grain-free “Granola” too that is pretty incredible. It makes paleo living so much easier 🙂 If you make a big batch of this muesli, it will store fine in an air-tight container as long as you don’t mix the fresh fruit in with the dry ingredients until you plan to eat it. I’ve got a big jar of the toasted dry ingredients (with dried fruit) in my pantry, and then it’s super easy to take out and chop up some fresh fruit of your choice (blueberries are so good on this too!). I will be posting the almond milk tomorrow…it’s definitely a keeper!

Let me know what you think!

