Baked Egg in Avocado with Chili Flakes and Lime


So for the last couple of weeks, Cam (my hub) and I have been doing a cleanse/detox – Brett Elliot’s Ultimate Herbal Detox to be precise. And believe it or not, it has actually been a really enjoyable experience! Don’t get me wrong, there were not-so-fun parts about it, like swallowing 20 herbal pills in the morning and 20 at night (yes, that’s 40 pills in one day)…but all said and done – it definitely did the job. I feel completely cleansed inside and out. Apart from loosing 5-6 lbs, (and the obvious things herbal cleanses do that I won’t mention here), my skin is glowing, my tummy feels much more at ease and overall my energy has increased.

Brett Elliott gives a full dietary breakdown of what foods to eat (and not to eat) while on this cleanse and even includes a little meal plan menu with recipe ideas for breakfast, lunch and dinner (and lots of smoothies!). The short version of the detox diet is – lots of fruits and veggies – nothing processed AT ALL. So basically, nothing that comes out of a can. Now, we probably found this diet a bit easier then most, as we eat lots of fruit and veg anyways – but the biggest change for us was the abrubt end to our much loved proteins! Yes, you do get some protein from veggies, but by the end of it I was drooling over recipes like Jules from Stonesoup’s “Magic Sausage Supper” and The Smitten Kitchen’s “Garlic Mustard Glazed Skewers”. Yes, I was craving meat.

Today is the first day post-cleanse, which brings me to my simple “Baked Eggs in Avocado” recipe. This was super easy to make. Hot breakfasts are my favorite, so after a couple weeks of having fruit salad and smoothies for breakfast – this hit the spot!

Baked Eggs in Avocado with Chili Flakes and Lime,  with Oven Roasted Tomatoes
Dietary Info: GF/DF/PA/SF

Serves 2

1 whole avocado, halved and seeded
2 organic, free range eggs (small size is best)

For the Garnish:

dried chili flakes
a wedge of lime
fresh coriander, chopped
salt and pepper

On the side:

one whole tomato, halved
1 tsp. homemade garlic & chili oil (or your oil of choice)

Preheat oven to 375°F. Carefully cut avocado in half and remove the seed. Carefully scoop out a small amount of avocado so it creates a larger “bed” for your egg. (yes, you are allowed to eat this now). Season the avocado generously with salt and pepper. Place avocado half in a small ramekin OR make a little “boat” out of foil to place the fruit in, to keep it from rolling over in oven. Carefully spoon the contents of one egg into each avocado bed and sprinkle more salt and pepper on top. I added dried red chili flakes on top for a little spice.

For the side of roasted tomatoes: cut tomato in halves, and brush oil over the top of each then dust with salt and pepper. I like to use a homemade garlic and chili oil, but any Extra Virgin Olive Oil (or oil of your choice) would do just fine.

Place stuffed avocados (in ramekin or foil) and tomato halves on a cookie sheet and carefully place in preheated oven. Bake for 15 minutes (this should leave you with slightly runny yokes, but non-runny whites).

Remove from oven.

To garnish (optional): Squeeze a wedge of fresh lime over each with a little drizzle of garlic & chili oil (or your choice), sprinkle some fresh coriander and serve!

Nutrition information per serving: Calories 255, Fat 21.6g, Carb 11g, Protein 10g

Special Dietary Needs:

Gluten Free/Grain Free = GF
Dairy Free = DF
Sugar Free = SF
Paleo Approved = PA
Vegetarian = V

The above codes for specific dietary requirements will be found under each recipe title.

8 thoughts on “Baked Egg in Avocado with Chili Flakes and Lime

    • This would definitely make for a fun Sunday Brunch… You can also be creative with the toppings, and sides (i.e.; bacon, sausages, seasoned wedges, etc.). You’ll have to let me know if you try it, and how it turned out!

      • The first time I made it, i used your directions, only I added a little mozzarella and didn’t use oil. However I also made it for lunch today, and seasoned with salt and pepper, than topped with finely chopped tomato, jalapeno and cilantro, AMAZING!

      • Hi Kristy, WOW – you are on a roll! I love discovering new recipes and figuring out ways to switch it up…amazing how you can totally change the flavors with a few simple ingredients! The mozzarella sounds soooo good with it (I’m dairy free, so you’ll have to enjoy that for me) :-) And I love the combination you used of tomatoes, jalapeno’s and cilantro – sounds like a mexican breakfast! Glad you tried it, and thanks for sharing your additions with me :-)

  1. I don’t consider myself a picky eater, but I never liked avocado. That is, until last week, when I decided it was time to grow up. I didn’t much care about the first recipes I made, but the association of egg and avocado worked for me! I will definitely be trying out this recipe! Thank you

    • I’m glad you are ‘taking the risk’ and willing to give it a try! I know from my own experience that your tastes do change with time, and I’ve found that some foods I used to avoid at all costs are now on my favorite list! Let me know how you like this one… You can be creative with your toppings/herbs/sauces with things you really like which may make it a but easier :-) thanks for your comment and I look forward to hearing from you again!

Let me know what you think!

